top of page

2nd session

I was hoping cloudy weather, so that we won't be too thirsty during our practice. But unfortunately, it was very very beautifully sunny.

Today, we were going to do 1.5km, or at least 1km. As soon as I mentioned "at least...", that was it. Morgaina probably decided to do no more than 1km.

After 200m, we found, the steering handle is better on the other side, then we stopped for swapping the handle side. 15 mins force rest.

At the point of 900m, one of the neighbour came to us and asked us what this weird wheelchair is. 10mins force rest.

Anyway, we've done 1km. I have a feeling we can do more, easily. Our middle term goal is, to be able to 3km in 1 hour, before Christmas.

By the way, I decided to train myself on Morgaina's manual wheelchair. It's very very hard, not only on my arms, but on my whole body, especially trunk. I used to be quite skinny, but I put on weight this winter, after stopped running habit. I am hoping that doing Round the Bays on a manual wheelchair will help me go back to shape, too.

Today, Morgaina's helper helped us, too (she usually help Morgaina for cooking, shower etc). Her steering is still not stable and she sometimes get stuck, when I was too busy with my own vehicle (manual wheelchair). We had fun, which is most important, isn't it?

today's steering unit position.

Morgaina also used cushion on her back.

We also had water bottle handy, as we leant from the last session.

bottom of page